17.3.2014, 14 comments

Printed Patterns

Big news – Named patterns are soon available as good old printed patterns! We have recently received our first batch of printed pattern packages, and they are waiting to be added to our shop during this month. The patterns can already be bought from a couple of retailers in Finland and France; you can check them out at the ‘Retailers’ section of our web site.

PaperPatterns2

Why paper patterns? Not everyone is a fan of printing, cutting and taping the pattern sheets together – the printed pattern package is a good option, as the package comes with a complete pattern sheet. Paper patterns are also easier to store and re-use, and may I just say that thanks to our lovely packaging designer Sini, the package itself is really a piece of eye candy!

PaperPatterns3

These printed patterns include all the same features than the virtual PDF-patterns; a pattern sheet with sizes 32-46, and a separate instructions booklet with illustrated sewing instructions, material chart, finished measurements, and so on. Pattern layout is overlapping, and the patterns will be traced to a separate pattern paper before cutting (pattern paper is not included in the package). The only major difference is that the pattern pieces don’t have seam allowances, but there are instructions for adding them. Right now we offer only the SS14 styles as printed patterns.

PaperPatterns7

The virtual PDF patterns will continue to be in our selection – these are convenient especially if you need to receive your patterns right away. They are a little more work, but a little less money, and they will never run out of stock!

PaperPatterns5

We are also looking for retailers for the printed patterns, so if you own or know a design/haberdashery/fabric shop or an independent sewing school anywhere in the world, don’t be afraid to mail us at info@namedclothing.com for more info about Named retail opportunities.

PaperPatterns4

All patterns are designed, made and printed in our hometown Helsinki, Finland!

– Saara & Laura

[social_share]

Comments

  1. Miriam says:

    Just wanted to add the lack of seam allowance in the paper patterns is really disappointing for me. I chose the paper pattern because it’s less work than a PDF. No seam allowance adds a whole lot of work to my way of thinking and I figure we all need a seam allowance so why not add it?? Maybe other stitchers feel differently but for me it’s definitely a downer. You have amazing designs and patterns so from this seamstress please consider adding that step for the paper patterns.

    1. named says:

      Hi Miriam and thanks for your feedback! We’ve had some comments like this, and have made the decision to have all seam allowances included in all future collections (also our SS16 already has them). We have also added a short checklist in all product cards in our shop, where you can quickly check whether the pattern has the seam allowances or not – you can see that right above the pattern price on the product page :) – Laura

  2. Kristel says:

    I just received my printed patterns this week, but having not read this before I was very surprised and quite disappointed to see that the seam allowances are not included. Any plans to modify this in the future?

    1. named says:

      Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your order :( There’s a reason for why we don’t have the seam allowances included, but we definitely wouldn’t want that to come as a surprise. This is why there’s a link to the FAQ section (http://www.namedclothing.com/faq) where this is explained at each product page. But your feedback is very much appreciated, and we’re constantly looking for ways to improve our products and services! We’ve actually discussed this matter a lot, and I’d say that it won’t be changed within the next 6 months, but it’s definitely not a completely impossible idea! Please don’t hesitate to mail us if you have any other feedback or questions about your order. Here’s our address: info@namedclothing.com. – Laura

  3. I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I absolutely liked reading all that is written on your blog.Keep the tips coming. I liked it!

  4. Sue says:

    PDF pattern doesn’t bother me and i made few pieces from your PDF already. but however paper pattern esp beautiful patterns are very attractive. it costs more but i chose to have paper patterns from your new collection.

  5. Sharie Kneip says:

    fantastic points altogether, you just gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest in regards to your post that you made some days ago? Any positive?

  6. kat says:

    I am SO THRILLED!! I have been wanting to try out your patterns since you first launched online, but have been turned off because I cannot be bothered to print and tape them. I have plans to buy several of them as soon as I get back from my Vacation (…. in Finland 😀 Maybe I will buy some when I am there, then!)

  7. Anna says:

    Yay!! Birthday present for me! :-)

  8. Pamela H. says:

    Thank

  9. Pamela H. says:

    I prefer printed patterns for all the reasons listed above. I did download my recent purchases and they waste too much paper! I wish I had waited for the packaged version.

  10. Sandra says:

    Oooh. Those printed patterns look super attractive!

  11. Stephanie says:

    YEAH!

  12. houseofpinheiro says:

    Im super excited about this

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current day month ye@r *